OBE for SEC Group Chairman in New Year Honours

Home/Press Statements/OBE for SEC Group Chairman in New Year Honours

OBE for SEC Group Chairman in New Year Honours

Trevor Hursthouse, chairman of the Specialist Engineering Contractors’ (SEC) Group, has been appointed an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE).

Mr Hursthouse, who has been employed in construction and building services engineering for over 40 years, has been a member of the board of SEC Group since its inception in 1993, and has served as its chairman since 1999.

In recent years, he has been instrumental, along with SEC Group colleagues, in bringing about an in-depth re-examination by Government of existing construction contracts legislation – an exercise which led to the introduction of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act, which contains measures designed to improve payment security and adjudication procedures.

This legislation, which is now on the statute book, will come into force later in the year.

“In an industry that sometimes appears sadly short on true leadership, Trevor Hursthouse stands out as a truly inspirational figure with a profound knowledge of its culture and working practices, and the problems and concerns of the small and medium-sized enterprises that represent its lifeblood,” commented SEC Group president Lord O’Neill of Clackmannan.

“His consultative, consensual and commonsense approach to the key issues has long been appreciated in Government circles – with the result that his wise counsel is often sought by ministers and officials alike.

“I am delighted that Trevor has received this well-deserved recognition of his valuable contribution to the life and work of the construction sector, and to British business as a whole.”

Among the key issues in which SEC group is currently involved are: the status of Government as “best practice client”; integration of the supply chain and minimisation of waste; and the use of project bank accounts and integrated project insurance.

2016-08-22T14:50:01+00:00 7 January 2011|Press Statements|